pecans are falling

 

IMG_1724

My pecan tree has gone nutty, dropping black-striped brown egg-shaped missiles all over, turning my backyard into a field of nuts. Considering the cost of pecans at the grocery store and considering I love pecans, I’m one happy nut-gatherer. I was greatly aggrieved last year when I found few nuts–maybe 5–that the squirrels hadn’t squirreled away but now I’m thinking maybe the squirrels weren’t the only reason the yard was practically nut-less. The house stood empty for a couple years before I bought it and down here in Alabama, you can sell your pecans to the various nut suppliers so I figure anyone who knew the property had a large mature pecan tree in the backyard probably came by with buckets and sacks. This year–they’re all mine! (Snoopy dance!)
IMG_1720

Last year, a whole nation of squirrels–mamas, papas, grandmamas and grandpappies, aunts, uncles, cousins and all the babies scampered about the boughs of my pecan tree throughout the summer, swishing their bushy tales, chattering and eating my pecans bold as they please. When winter came, they vacated the pecan tree for the oak trees and they have not returned. Probably has something to do with the new landlord stalking the property–my cat Loki.IMG_0609

Fine with me–the little freeloaders! The tree is a skyscraper and when I’m outside I can hear the nuts plummeting from on high and landing in the grass, sometimes with a crack! They pick up speed as they dive earthward and hit the ground so hard, they actually crack. Some hit the wood planks of my box garden and at whatever mph they’re falling, it’s like a firecracker going off. You know how hard pecan shells are? That’s amazing. One other amazing thing is there’s an insect that can drill a tiny perfectly round hole in a pecan to get at the meat. That’s one insect I don’t want to meet–although, given how I was eaten alive when I arrived here last summer, I may have already had the displeasure. I spent August and September scratching my skin off. Alabama has a universe of insect life and they all bite.

So it’s Sunday, usually my reading day (almost finished with Gone Girl), but I’m preptobering so the agenda today is to continue on with getting ready to write Errors of Choice. Might do a few other things too, like:

  • Do some market research today for the 3 short stories I wrote this year;
  • Re-do the manuscript progress list at penpanther’s sidebar; and
  • Find my printout of The Bone Box because for some reason the right version is not–gosh darn it–on my computer; don’t know why not!

Time to get to work!

 

 

 

