the wind is high, the lilies scarlet

Have stacked up a goodly number of pages on A Haunting of Roses since August. After a severe slicing away of narrative, cutting the manuscript from 38,000 to about 16,000 words, I’ve built it up to 31,774 words, writing over 15,000 words to get it to where it feels right.

I’ve been fretting some over the structure and the plot. It’s a fantasy novel containing a murder mystery and I’ve been wrestling with point of view–single? multiple? Have written it both ways and there is merit to each approach. It comes down to am I writing a whodunnit or a whydunit? Do I want only the point of view of my detective, Senior Inquisitor Mira? Or do I want the point of view of the potential suspects as well? What do I want to show? How do I want to embed the clues? Do I want the reader to know what the detective doesn’t know or hasn’t yet discovered? Or do I want the reader and the detective to discover things together?

On my coffee cup mood tracker in my bullet journal, I’ve colored in five days of frustration, one day of stress, two happy days, one depressed day, and eight good days, so not doing too badly. Today I came to a happy conclusion, thanks to Kathleen Bittner Roth: “Write what you love, and in the manner you love!”

I’ve made up my mind.

Happy writing!

 

