hello, september!

Boreas_Waterhouse

A happily productive day yesterday. Wrote 1,060 words on A Haunting of Roses (“AHR”)  before noon during my morning session, which I managed to start on time after having been late to the office for a couple days. My morning writing time is 9 a.m. to Noon. AHR gets the morning session and after lunch, I move onto my next manuscript, Verdugo Bay Dark, a paranormal young adult or if I’m stalled (temporarily) on it, I’ll do research or fiddle with a short story, or find something creative that’ll jog me back into the manuscript.

Wow where has the year gone! September already! Wasn’t it just January yester-month? Today or early tomorrow morning must do my Writing Progress & Productivity Report for August, have it ready for my monthly meeting with my productivity accountability partner. These monthly meetings really keep me in the loop of my creativity, listening to all that she’s accomplished during a month energizes me to keep going for the gold. It’s so easy to fall down, not because I’m not dedicated to writing, but because of the constant wrestling with doubt demons. In my combination writing and bullet journal last month, I created a mood tracker to chart the up and down days to see how to help myself stay focused. I like creative mood trackers, but I’m not a graphic artist so I printed out spaceandquiet.com’s coffee cup mood tracker for this month, free from her Resource Library. Can’t get the link to set :(.

I submitted two short stories last month, but been too busy with the novels to carve out time for my self-directed Short Story Workshop. Hope to remedy that this month and get back to it. Doing the workshop gave me three new stories that might never have been written had I not developed the workshop and carved out time for it.

Yesterday, I’d hoped to get another thousand words done on AHR in the afternoon–sort of a bonus goal–but instead I ended up reading and writing story notes, developing more material for the novel. I also printed out the first ten chapters. I was so happy at how well the morning session went, completely writing a new scene that I’d expected to be difficult going, that I cooked a tasty dinner for my sister and me. I harvested from my garden a half a dozen bell peppers and stuffed them with shrimp, turkey sausage, rice, and summer squash with fresh garlic, onion, a sprinkle of garlic salt and pepper, topped with freshly grated Parmesan cheese, and for dessert, made cheesecake. A successful writing day usually leads to a successful dinner!

Next month is NANO prep or Rachael Stephen’s preptober.  Haven’t decided on a book yet, but it might be Verdugo Bay Dark. I’m only a little ways into it–2 scenes.

Now I’m good and late for today’s work.

Happy writing!

6 thoughts on “hello, september!

Leave a Reply

