the purgatory of persistence

Wednesday didn’t start off well. I spent another night shortening my life–no sleep–so long about 3 a.m. in the hollow hours of Wednesday morning, I gave up, got up and watched a documentary about child stars on YouTube. It was a fascinating round table discussion by former child stars. By the time it was over, morning had come. Foggy-minded as I was, I made coffee, frittered around a bit–no good going to bed ’cause I wasn’t going to sleep, the adrenalin had kicked in.

I gathered my stuff and settled down to revise a short science fiction story, Second Intrusion. Somewhere around nine o’clock, I picked up my cell phone to check e-mail and discovered I had no service and no Internet! What?! This derailed the morning, threw me in a confused tizzy while I tried to figure out what had happened–but it dawned on me that something must have gone wrong somewhere. I felt like a character in a Twilight Zone show floating in the black of space amid the distant gleam of unreachable planets.

Power came back on about 3 p.m. I’d finished my revisions so the day was not a complete loss. This morning’s paper explained what happened: a fiber optic line had been accidentally cut. Well! Hate when that happens!

Rain this morning, pleasantly cool outside and quiet, except for the occasional hooting call of a bird somewhere in the neighborhood. I’m going to type-in the revisions and set the story aside for 3 days before giving it a read-thru. I’ve got my submissions list ready. This one is winging away as soon as I deem it worthy.

Then it’s on to A Fall of Diamonds. Last night I broke it into chapters. I write in scenes while drafting, and when I have a good long list of scenes and I can see sequences developing from my non-linear writing and I start to lose my mind and the brain is on fire, I create chapters. Not sure how the work will go today, but I’m looking for a way out of the mines of Moria.

Happy writing.