acceptance!

Julius+Caesar+1

Woke up to a happy email this morning–sold a sword and sorcery story! :)) I love sword and sorcery! I once spent an entire summer reading Fritz Leiber, Ffahrd and the Grey Mouser, Michael Moorcock, Elric of Melnibone, Robert E. Howard, Conan the Barbarian, stories by Clark Ashton Smith, and Lin Carter, didn’t shake the clash of swords, barbarian yells and wizard’s magic out of my head until school started that year. (And oh yes I watch Game of Thrones!) So my story sold to one of my favorite online magazines. Details to come when it’s published.

I’ve been busy writing A Fall of Diamonds. Lots of deleting, revising and restructuring going on, but it’s coming along and will be at least two books, maybe three. I’m trying not to over-complicate the story so I stopped my crazy quilt pantsering and did a beat sheet and a detailed outline. I finished Book One, that is Part One of the first novel, and this week I’m tackling Book Two (Part Two) and trying not to drive myself crazy. I felt a slump coming on so the short story acceptance really made my day.

Trying to stay on target this quarter, although I did let one anthology deadline pass without submitting the story I’d written for it. The story wasn’t good enough. I’ll wrestle with it another day.

Happy writing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

