South

IS1v8ep88gvr2p0000000000

The days are spinning down to my last day in the Golden State. In six weeks, I’ll be moving South to Alabama, a hop, skip and a jump of 389.2 miles from Louisiana, where I’m originally from. So I’ll be close to aunties and cousins once more and the passed on spirits of grandparents, great-aunts and uncles, and my father, who is buried in the hometown cemetery. I’ll be leaving Mom in her final resting place in Riverside, California, but I’ll have her with me still in heart and memory in my new home in Alabama.

Meanwhile, my last month and a half here is a long list of things I must do in preparation for the Great Move. Dad was in the Air Force, so I spent my childhood and adolescence moving state to state, country to country. I’m used to adjusting and adapting to new places, people, flavors of life, but Southern California has been my home for four decades and I’ve put down roots which I’m about to tear up.

I’ll be leaving a host of good and treasured friends whom I’ve come to know and love over the years. This is heartbreaking for me because I spent a good bit of my life without enduring friendships. I passed through other people’s lives like the proverbial ship until coming to Southern California where Dad retired out of March Air Force Base, and we were all finally rooted in place.

I enjoyed growing up on the move, but it meant never getting to know anyone or any place for an extended period of time, never forming relationships, friendships. I remember that it felt strange to still be in the same place for more than a year or two.

I will miss certain things about California–the golden weather of course (I’m a sunbunny.), the variety of things to do, places to go, things to see (but must confess traffic and the familiarity of knowing I could always go to this venue or that often kept me home.) You can guess the thing I won’t miss–traffic, traffic, and traffic, the irritation of how long it takes to get to a place that is, in real time, only thirty minutes away. There are other things I won’t miss, but I’m not going to rant. California is a lovely state in many ways.

I will miss my friends the most, but the Internet closes the distance. They may no longer be physically within reach, but e-mail, text, phone, and social media keeps connection going.

So that’s all I’ve got to say for now. Oh wait…the writing. Not so much because I’m busy with packing and working my way through my personal due diligence list, but I’m managing to keep my hand in. I have two writer’s group meetings this week, and I’ve been reading. And this week I received a rejection for a flash fiction submission too.This morning I finished Steven Pressfield’s enlightening and informative Nobody Wants To Read Your Sh*t. I highly recommend it.

