do you know when you’re happy

 

white-blossom-tree1.jpg

Do you know when you’re happy? Do you recognize when you’re happy? I ask because it occurred to me I don’t know when I’m happy. Isn’t that strange?

Daily life can be overwhelming and stressful. I become buried in mundanities, in keeping up with my responsibilities, social obligations, solving quality of life issues–like dealing with traffic, trying to straighten out a misconstrued bill caught in the Kafka-esque world of administrative bureaucracy, realizing you’ve lost your wallet, your cellphone, finding your car stolen, your home broken into, your identity stolen, oh man, the list goes on, doesn’t it?

So I don’t know when I’m happy. Yet I know when I’m unhappy–that’s never a question of doubt. But when I look back, I see and I say to myself, oh, I was happy then! Why didn’t I see that? Why wasn’t I grateful?

One of the keys to happiness, I believe, is gratitude. Be grateful for your life because life, in all its unpredictability, is opportunity.

By opportunity I mean the chance to forgive yourself, forgive others, keep your promises, mend your trespasses, attain your dreams, love yourself and love others.

Because once the thread of your life has spun and the thread is cut, all your chances are gone. Once the thread of those in your life is cut, all your chances to do what you’d wished you’d done–like forgive, mend, love–are gone.

What it basically comes down to is following the golden rule (Do unto others as you would have done to you.), respecting yourself and the people in your life, recognizing your blessings, letting go of what you cannot change, adapt, be yourself, be grateful. And live one day at a time.

Tomorrow is always the first day of the rest of your life.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “do you know when you’re happy

  1. Nice post today. A thoughtful one. There’s also that pesky difference between happiness and joy where the former is dependent on circumstances.

  2. Indeed. “Joy” is the term used in the Bible. It is a state of being not dependent on external circumstances. It encompasses inner enlightenment of spirit, compassion and grace. It is, I think, a more difficult state to attain.
    Thank you!

  3. Happiness is not just an emotion but a satisfaction..nicely expressed. You can publish your work in our upcoming magazine.The Miracle Magazine, is an arts and literary magazine that caters to the part of the society that is dazzled by the brilliance of art. After carving a niche internationally, we decided to come back to our roots and launch an Indian edition for the magazine. With this magazine, we aim to cover a variety of sections, including Fiction and Non Fiction Writing, Poetry, Photography and Fine Arts. The magazine focuses on young people who have excelled in their fields, and also aims to encourage new talent.   We’ve released our very first Winter issue this January! Now as we are planning to proceed and come up with the Spring edition we’re looking forward to better content and matter by fusing and putting together the thought of the nation’s youth. We would really appreciate if we get content including the following: submissions in art poetry fiction and non-fiction writing book or movie review, comics photography from your side. Incase of any inquiry you can contact us on the following: Email address:miraclemagazineindia@gmail.com Regards, Miracle Magazine: India The magazine is now available in an exclusive and accessible digital format. Here is the link: http://issuu.com/miraclemagazineindia/docs/miracle_magazine-issue_1 Furthermore details are available on our website. Website link:http://miraclemagazineind.wix.com/miracleindia. Cheers 🙂

Comments are closed.