Musée d’Orsay, Paris

IMG_0820

Stepping into the main hall of the Musee d’Orsay, I paused to take in the magnificent ceiling and the great clock. The Musee d’Orsay in its gorgeous Beaux-Arts building, built between 1898 and 1900 on the Left Bank, was once the Gare d’Orsay, a railway station that operated until 1939.

The museum has the largest collection of Impressionist and post-Impressionist art in the world, and you can take photographs. Jean-François_Millet_-_Gleaners_-_Google_Art_Project_2 I’ve always liked Jean-Francois Millet’s The Gleaners; it was a treat to see it up close.

To my delight I discovered Portrait of Emile Zola, 1868, by Eduoard Manet. Zola’s novel of adultery and murder, Therese Raquin, is a favorite. I’ve read it twice (and will probably read it again) and watched two movie adaptations. I prefer the 1980 film with Alan Rickman.IMG_0328

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There was an  exhibition of beautiful Art Deco furniture and magnificent sculptures in the main hall.

2 thoughts on “Musée d’Orsay, Paris

Comments are closed.