buds and blossoms

waterhouse140.Danaides

Yesterday was productive, a good start. I wrote 1490 words of The Bone Box, bringing the total manuscript to 3732. If I can figure out how, I’ll place a word count tracker on the blog. I recall doing it once before years ago, but with all the changes WordPress has undergone since then, I don’t know how to do it now.

I revise as I write because I don’t want a mess on my hands when the Discovery Draft is finished. Having to weed and winnow, to do a deep rewrite to get a decent draft is too much like starting from scratch for my peace of mind. I want a first draft to be as close as possible to what I want the story to be, and then I can weed and winnow with much less stress and frustration, polishing is so much easier.

Since you don’t know how deep the mud puddle is until you step in it, yesterday I realized that a fifteen-minute afternoon break isn’t long enough for my brain to recover from the pressure of starting a new chapter, even after the two-hour lunch period I give myself to decompress from the morning session. Once I’m back at work, the brain winds itself up again and I feel fatigue setting in, monkey mind starts a mental St. Vitus dance and my focus jitters to pieces. Yesterday I took an hour’s break at 4 and then finished the day with a final hour of writing, which moved me well into Chapter 2. Flexibility is key; straitjacketing myself in the effort to be disciplined won’t help if I’m unable to stay focused.

I’m pleased that I wrote more than 1000 words and I’m pleased with Chapter 1 too.

It’s been hellishly hot this week. At 7:25 p.m. last night the temperature outside was 88 degrees Fahrenheit, not even one little breeze stirred the lindens. The nights are so hot I can’t sleep and tend to stay up way too late watching bad horror films. At least Southern California isn’t humid like Louisiana where summer nights are steam pots with the lid on and you melt into the sheets.

I know I’ve said this a few times before, but I mean to post more about my Danube cruise. I still have Vienna, Slovakia, and Budapest to write about. I don’t want to forget.

It’s almost the writing hour. Time to get ready.

