fret and despair

Ariadne_in_Naxos,_by_Evelyn_De_Morgan,_1877

Fret and despair. What I’ve been up to these days, but not for much longer, I hope. The morning is serenely gray, the silence broken now and then by sparrow call.

The Danube cruise approaches, the days spinning down to June 6. Today I’ll buy Euros when I go out to pick up my prescriptions. Physical therapy yesterday for the first time in my life, seems my spine is mishandling the nerves, giving me a numb hand, sometimes a numb arm. So I must do a median nerve exercise 3 times a day, 10 times each arm, for 30 days.  Guess that’s how I’ll start each morning of the cruise. I’ll have to remember during whatever downtime I have to do it 2 more times during the course of the day.

Plan to work on Chapter 1, Scene 1 of The Foreigner this morning, integrating Marius’s memory of Evkya’s suicide with his walk to the village. It’ll strengthen the chapter, round it out, and then I’ll be done with Chapter 1. I’ll bring the manuscript with me on the cruise, but not sure how much time I’ll find to write. Still I’ll feel better having it with me.

I’m not taking my laptop, taking my mini iPad instead. It can fit into my shoulder bag and I won’t have to worry about hauling out the laptop at airport security. It’s such a zoo going through security. I don’t want to risk forgetting it on the belt. Last time, coming back from the Rhine cruise, I left my large iPad on the plane. Fortunately I was able to get it back right away. The guy sitting next to me thoughtfully gave it to the security rep as he exited the plane and it was handed to me when I ran up in a panic. Honestly, I nearly had a heart attack when I realized it wasn’t poking out of my shoulder bag.

I finished Roz Morris’s My Memories of a Future Life. Good book. I’m halfway through Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Wish I had it in the Cloud to download, but I may finish it before I go.

Time for my second cup of coffee and getting to work.

2 thoughts on “fret and despair

Comments are closed.