dancing blue

396_A_Remington_1888

Productive week so far. Went through Sleight of Hand again, making corrections and line edits, and thinking about its flaws. The word count fluctuates day to day but the story is at about 14,800 words by Scrivener’s count–which is never in line with Word. I like the story generally, but now I’ve started worrying about the end of it as well as how it developed. How to write a mystery is a mystery to me.

Yesterday it was sunny and warm, a rising heat trend according to the weather folk. Looked out the bathroom window yesterday afternoon and saw the moon in the same place it’s been, a thin white glowing disk like a pale thumbprint in the sky.

I’ve decided to start writing the Austen and Valaria story next Tuesday. A bit nervous about beginning, but I’ve got the first 5 chapters sketched out.

Fiction I want to finish:

  • Sleight of Hand, mystery novella
  • the Austen and Valaria story (untitled vampire romance)
  • A Fall of Diamonds, fantasy (in the Angharad Cycle)
  • Separate and rewrite the Gaius and Annasara storyline from A Lamentation of Swans, fantasy (in the Angharad Cycle)
  • Rain of Pearls, fantasy (Angharad Cycle)
  • Another rewrite of Shadow Walk

I’m already thinking about a second Jerob and Rafael novella. Also spent time yesterday researching the Buffalo Soldiers for Sleight of Hand, primarily for shaping up Jerob. I’ve had to change the time period for this steampunk story from the 1870s to 1884 since the Buffalo Soldiers didn’t receive official designation until 1866, after the Civil War, when six black regiments were formed by an act of Congress (the 9th and 10th Cavalry and four Infantry regiments later combined into the 24th and 25th Infantry). Jerob belonged to the 10th Cavalry and I needed him to have served during the Indian Wars.

I was curious about how the black Army regiments received the name “Buffalo Soldier.” Found out it was a name of respect given to black soldiers by the Cheyenne and the Comanche who likened them to the buffalo for their dark, kinky hair, their brown skin, and their bravery and ferocity in battle. Black Army troops were proud of the name and It became the official designation for them all. Since the story has a steampunk setting I guess I could have left it in 1877, but it made more sense to move it forward a few years just for Jerob.

I still have much to do with Sleight of Hand, at least one more rewrite.

4 thoughts on “dancing blue

  1. Terrific post! Fascinating bits about the Buffalo Soldiers. Isn’t funny how research alters a story? Love the list of fiction you want to finish. Can’t wait to see them published. Best wishes on starting the vampire romance next week!

  2. Thanks so much. I’m excited and nervous about starting the vampire romance; I’m hoping it goes well! So true about research– a little goes a long way. d:)

  3. I’m with you about the mystewry of writing a mystery. Hope it all works out. 🙂 The Buffalo Soldier sounds like a fascinating idea. Whenever you can unearth these nuggests of history, it’s always fun.

  4. Thanks, Becky! I’m so glad to have finished it, but rewriting is snarling me up again! I love doing research–problem is choosing what details to use in the story. d:)

Comments are closed.