caged in thorns

La porta della Carta nel Palazzo Ducale.Bunney

Woke up this morning feeling like I was caged in thorns. Well we won’t go into that. Christmas Day was unexpectedly sunny and hot as was Christmas Eve, and today–no change in the weather. A high of 81 degrees Fahrenheit is expected. Beautiful days, but a bit surreal at this time of the fast-fading year.

I spent Christmas at my sister’s. She made chicken, sausage, and shrimp gumbo, and homemade peach cobbler. Not to disrespect the gumbo (which I had not had in a long time) but peach cobbler! Yes I ate more than my share. Yesterday a friend and I had our traditional Boxing Day lunch at Ye Olde Ship in Fullerton, in honor of our English friend, mystery writer Patricia Guiver, who passed away several years ago. The three of us used to having Boxing Day lunch together.

Wow. 2014 almost upon us. 2013 is spinning down the last of its 525,600 minutes. I’ll post my new year’s goals and 2013’s accomplishments and my books read and movies seen next month. It’s too much to deal with right now. I think too some day in January I’ll visit the Los Angeles Museum of Natural History. Just because.

2013 wasn’t a bad year, but it wasn’t shiny and sparkling either. Some things got done, some things were forgotten, some things fell out of the window (oops). Nevertheless I expect 2014 to be fruitful.

One thought on “caged in thorns

Comments are closed.