the art of unwriting

269

I am particularly good at the art of un-writing; I’ve honed my ability to unmake the words I make with great finesse, single words, sentences, paragraphs, and pages fall to my slicing pen, disappear into the white paper void. My other name is Deleting Diva.

Writing is rewriting, they say–all well and good, but I really would like to do more writing and less un-writing. I’d feel so much better about the work. A good thing–I’ve noticed I’ve done very little un-writing on my two mystery stories. They both creep forward word by word and the words don’t disappear! I wonder what’s working for these two stories that’s not working for Trail of Shadows, or some of my other fiction.

Trail of Shadows, my fantasy novel that’s a combination thriller and murder mystery (maybe a little romantic suspense), sheds words like a tree in fall shedding leaves.

It’s been hot, hot, hot! So hot I feel like the Wicked Witch of the West–melting right into myself. I’m trying to come up with a title for the Jerob Deal story, but no luck so far. I’ve returned to work on The Foreigner too. Character work–developing relationships.

Over at Michelle Knowlden Writes is a wonderful First Friday Breakfast with award-winning novelistĀ Kristy Tate. Her novel The Rhyme’s Library is a semifinalist in the 2013 Kindle Book Awards contest. Good going, Kristy!

6 thoughts on “the art of unwriting

  1. The art of unwriting. Great title and idea. I’ve had that battle before, too. Hope in all the unwriting you find more writing.

  2. Lovely article. I do much whining before I delete even a phrase; I envy the ability to slice away whole pages! Keep writing–you’re doing fine.

Comments are closed.