climbing out of the hole

156

Sorry for the long silence, but I’ve been ill and spent time in the hospital. Anyone who thinks hospitals are quiet places has not spent much time in one. This wasn’t my first hospital rodeo, but I’d forgotten how noisy hospitals are. There’s constant bells and beeps going off; banging doors (yeah there are doors in hospitals that bang close); people laughing and talking in the hall; visitors; the bang of trash containers being emptied; the sound of televisions ’cause every room has two; the creaky roll of trolleys, and a plethora of other noises that make it nearly impossible to actually sleep. I didn’t really sleep; I’d just lose consciousness in sheer exhaustion, and soon as that happened, a lab tech showed up to draw blood. My arms–I’ve got veins that hide–have so many needle sticks, they look like they belong to a hard-core junkie. I’ve got bruises.

It is so wonderful to be home. The quiet of my bedroom is such a solace.

5 thoughts on “climbing out of the hole

  1. Welcome home to peace and quiet. I sympathise. I’ve been out of action for a few weeks due to a very bad back, and although I was able to stay at home, I know how frustrating it can be when your normal life and routine is denied in some way. Just getting mobility back and feeling much more positive. Healing wishes to you!!

Comments are closed.