no boring scenes

521px-Capriccio_of_the_Capital_by_Bernardo_Bellotto

 

No boring scenes! That’s a given isn’t it? Not so much, I’ve discovered. No boring scenes is my new writing mantra. A scene, every scene, need not be over the top action or high drama, but every scene must be interesting, must hold excitement, must offer the reader something new, something fun, something cool. Why? If the reader is not entertained, what’s the point?

Working on Chained, a fantasy romance which was my 2009 NaNo book, made me think about scenes, about how to write good ones. Sometimes I decide there are  certain scenes that must be written because x has to come before y in order for z to be cool. Problem is–what if x is boring, like moving furniture. Who wants to read that? If I find my mind wandering while in the middle of writing the scene–that’s a problem. So when I’m determining what scenes to write, I also make sure it has a purpose that adds to the story, that keeps it exciting, keeps it interesting. I thought about what keeps me reading a book–my interest is engaged in one way or another by what the writer writes, be it a quiet scene or an action scene or a scene of particular drama.

I’ve done a beat sheet for Chained, and I’ve promised myself that before I write one new word, I will outline the story and know where I’m going, and every scene will give the reader a reason to keep reading. No more boring scenes!

8 thoughts on “no boring scenes

  1. Great writing mantra – do you mind if I steal it?

    Also, a bit unrelated, but – isn’t Chained the title of a Laurie Halse Anderson book?

    • Hi writingmom2013! You may steal away! Good writing mantras are to be shared!

      As for my book title, well, I don’t know the writer or the novel you mention, but I’m not surprised. Anywho, it makes for a good working title for me and by the time I finish the novel, I’ll have a better title, I hope. d:)

      • Ah, I was wrong, anyway. Anderson’s novel is called Chains – it’s a historical fiction novel about slavery.

        Anderson is a famous YA author who wrote, amongst others, the novels Speak and Wintergirls. She does a fairly good job of capturing a voice; here’s her website if you’re interested: http://madwomanintheforest.com/books/.

      • Well that’s okay. I read very little YA–but once in a while I’ll run across a YA that catches my attention, like The Hunger Games, for example, which I discovered by reading another writer’s blog. Happy writing, d:)

  2. I find that when I have to write a “boring” scene (usually something with a lot of description), even one unexpected or surprising detail can add life to it. I also find that movement is good.

Comments are closed.