stage light

Four Horsemen Apocalypse.baron arildrosenkrantz30

 

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Baron Arild Rosenkrantz

Yesterday I started a scene to introduce the antagonist of The Foreigner, Thabe-Baht, Fanh-Daole’s husband. I thought I was off to a good start with him, but soon realized he was flat when I needed him to be fully rounded. I’ve got a nice detailed sketch of him in my notes, a good sense of him in my head, but he dies on the page. Something’s not working.

I was thinking he and Marius Saul, the protagonist, must interact, although that’s not the scene I was writing yesterday. I know that when Marius meets Thabe-Baht, he’ll think him a decent man and take him at face value, but Thabe-Baht has a hidden vicious quality. That first impression has to convey both his charm and give a sense of what it hides.

There are a number of ways to go:

  • Exposition
  • Description
  • Action
  • Shading
  • Gestures and mannerisms
  • Setting, tastes, interests
  • The opinion of others
  • Dialog
  • Thoughts
  •  Narrative voice

Of these choices, I want to use the one or a combination that best conveys Thabe-Baht’s character.  Don’t know if I’ll get any new words down today.

3 thoughts on “stage light

  1. Neat picture!
    I like that list of ways to go. I must put them in my moleskine and consult it often.
    Enjoy the journey to discovery.

  2. Thanks; every time I look at it I get a stronger impression. Interesting how the colors blend and yet remain striking. d:)

Comments are closed.