a clear pale blue-eyed winter’s day

HalfSickofShadows.Waterhouse

Half sick of shadows, John William Waterhouse

Sunday morning, the sky a bright cold blue, sunshine like a klieg light. Lots of wheeling and turning going on in my mind, silly, since all I have to do is think clearly about what to do today, what to write or work on.

In a minute I’m going to have coffee, eat my last banana, and read a bit of Virginia Woolf’s A Writer’s Diary. Then I’ll plan the rest of the day.

Was reading earlier a short story, new wave SF, nicely written but tedious. I stopped reading when I realized I was pushing my gaze from word to word, plodding along an endless trail, my mind not engaged, but held briefly by the literary style.

I should take a walk in the bright cold morning before starting this week’s 1000 new words and clear my mind of its many brambles.

2012 Movies Seen (in no particular order)

  1. Skyfall
  2. The Dark Knight Rises
  3. The Hunger Games
  4. The Avengers
  5. John Carter
  6. Prometheus
  7. The Woman in Black
  8. Snow White and the Huntsman
  9. Breaking Dawn (Part 2)
  10. The Hobbit
