pale evening

 

 

Outside, it’s a pale evening, the sun gone, the sky still light, but fading by the minute. I wrote 781 words on the urban fantasy today, a new first scene. I was going to hold off with the actual writing for a while since I’m still working on the outline, but I could see this scene so clearly that I wanted to capture it before I lost its details.

Friday I finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I loved this book–the way it was written, the characters, especially Lisbeth Salander, and the story. I’ll be picking up the other two in the series, but meanwhile, today, I finally started Cherie Priest’s Boneshaker.

Thursday night’s Netflix film, The Box, starring Cameron Diaz, was one of the worst movies I’ve watched in a long time. What a muddle–neither fish nor fowl, couldn’t decide if it wanted to be fantasy or science fiction, and never mind its poor execution of the theme, the conflict between a moral conscience and greed. Matheson’s short story, Button, Button, the basis for the movie, is brilliant; the movie, not even close.

I have not been posting much because I’m considering what to do with pendrifter, and I’ve been too busy to give time to it, and my brain’s empty of interesting stuff to write about on more days than I care to count.

2 thoughts on “pale evening

  1. I always have time to read your posts, but I hardly ever have time to reply. I suppose I could just “like” them. Faint praise fr such lovely thoughts. In today’s terms, my bad. I’ll miss your notes if you don’t continue. However, I know well the need to save writing energy for the bigger works.

    • Hi, Jean! That’s so nice of you to say; good to know somebody is reading my disjointed scribblings. I don’t plan to drop pendrifter, just make it better. d:)

Comments are closed.