HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Fairy, Arthur Rackham

I love the start of a new year, all that untapped potential, waiting to be used, full of expectation and hope. It’s why New Year’s Eve is my favorite holiday.

I’m thinking about reshaping pendrifter this year. Don’t know exactly what I’m going to do or how the blog is going to be, but I’m ruminating and doodling ideas to improve/reshape/reslant the blog. It’ll remain my online writing journal at its heart, but I want there to be more. More what–don’t know yet. I like the current theme; the content needs to change.

Yesterday I ran around like a headless chicken, didn’t get a chance to do my year-end wrap-up post so, in no particular order…

2010 Books Read

1. Lovecraft Unbound, Caitlin Kiernan
2. Holidays on Ice, David Sedaris
3. Roman Dusk, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
4. A Mortal Glamour, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
5. Dark of the Sun, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
6. Black Powder War, Naomi Novik
7. The Knights of the Cornerstone, James Blaylock
8. Flirt, Laurell K. Hamilton
9. And Now the Nightmare Begins: The Horror Zine
10. Under the Tuscan Sun, Frances Mayes
11. The City & The City, China Mieville
12. The Wind-Up Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi
13. Brainstorm
14. Hooked, Les Edgerton
15. First Draft in 30 Days, Karen S. Wiesner
16. Make the Scene, Jordan Rosenfeld
17. Day of the Jackal
18. Orange County Noir
19. Creepers, David Morrell
20. The Talented Mr. Ripley, Patricia Highsmith
21. A Reliable Wife, Robert Goolrick
22. The Havana Room, Colin Harrison
23. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, Stephanie Meyer

2010 Movies Seen

1. Eclipse
2. Ironman 2
3. Inception
4. The Town
5. Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows
6. Tron Legacy
7. Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader
8. Black Swan
9. The Fighter

Today Michelle and I have our writer’s meeting, 2010 assessment and 2011 GDR’s. Looking back at 2010:

Did not finish Sweet Taboo
Did not write one short story a month
Did not research agents for Taken and Sweet Taboo
Did not write daily

BUT:
Submissions:

Breath of the Grave
The Ghost Jewel
Shadow
Parting Gift

Revisions, Rewriting, Editing:

Revised Sweet Taboo, 54,067/60,000 words
Edited Three Heartbeats short story
Did the March Edit, worked on A Lamentation of Swans, Blanchefleur (retitled Taken), Breath of the Grave, and Three Heartbeats
Did a little revision work on Silk River
Started 3 new short stories

Other Stuff:

Did my self-designed Spring Forward Writing Workshop in May and in August my Short Story Writing Workshop
Wrote one review

Submitted 8 of 13 greeting card verses to Calypso Cards for their “Selfish Kitty” line (not something I’d usually do, but coming up with the verses was fun)
Sent Loose Daddy to a professional editor, got back a detailed review, and put it all away until I’m ready to tackle the manuscript again.

And in November:
Wrote The Foreigner, completed NaNo, 50,456 words

2011 Goals:

1. TAKEN has top priority this year–get it written and submitted

2. March Edit: The Foreigner

3. Revamp pendrifter

4. Write one new short story
5. Read my research books on vampires
6. Write one essay

Most important–MAINTAIN FOCUS!

4 thoughts on “HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  1. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Comments are closed.