fade to black

by Thomas Canty

37,318, The Foreigner. Got a flash of the final scene of The Foreigner, still 12,000 or so words away but it’s comforting to have a clue about the final scene. Endings are as important as beginnings, and beginnings are supposed to hold the heart of the novel in the opening paragraph, or even the opening sentence. Writer Joe Moore commenting at PJ Parrish’s Cabbages and Kings, says: “Within those first few paragraphs–sometimes buried, sometimes artfully disguised, sometimes signposted–are all the seeds of theme, style and most powerfully, the very voice of the writer herself.”

Endings too carry those same qualities and hark back to or echo the beginning. In the beginning is the end, and both must satisfy, particularly the end of the story. Thinking about this makes me want to look at the endings of my favorite novels to see if they echo the beginning, to see how much they satisfy, to see if the end holds the same qualities as the beginning. Anyway…that’s a post for another day.

Today I’m supposed to be taking a break from the novel, but I’ve not been entirely successful, scribbling a page and a half of a new scene this morning ’cause it was bopping around in my head, but really, I’m a bit tired and want a break. Seven days to go, scenes to write…I think I can catch up.

One thought on “fade to black

Comments are closed.