Short Story Writing Workshop – Day 3

Day 2 went very well, even though I interrupted it mid-way to meet friends and attend an archaeological lecture at the Bowers Museum, Fishing, Fowling and Foreigners: The Middle Kingdom Tombs at Beni Hassan. It was fascinating, and I took a page of notes in Moleskine. It gave me an idea for the temple mortuary in A Lamentation of Swans.

After the lecture, had a fabulous lunch and a fun chinwag at McCormick’s & Schmidts, and we stopped at the Mother’s grocery store–I hadn’t been in one before. Came home with two types of kale, purple and red, and vine tomatoes with that sharp green scent I love,  fig, fennel and flax manna bread, and goat cheese. Once I was home again and settled I read and analyzed Jane Rice’s beautifully written The Refugee in American Fantastic Tales, edited by Peter Straub, and went back to work on Werewolf, Zombies, Sunrise. It’s starting to shape up. Think I’m finally onto a good thing with it. Though I doubt I can get it completely rewritten between today and tomorrow.

I overslept this morning so I’m running late. Must get on with Day 3. All times are relative today!

WORKSHOP AGENDA – SUNDAY, AUGUST 15

The two most engaging powers of an author are to make new things familiar and familiar things new. –Samuel Johnson

7:00 am Breakfast

8:00 am Inspirational Reading – Jay Lake, Subterranean Press Online, Summer 2008

Workshop 3 – POINT OF VIEW 8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Assigned Reading – POV and the Elements of Story, The Power of Point of View, A. Rasley

Short Story: The Freak Museum, Jackie Gamber (Genre: Speculative Fiction)

Short Story:  Flu Season, Barbara Roden (Genre: Horror)

  • What is the POV in Flu Season and how does it contribute to the story’s atmosphere and narrative tension?
  • How does the POV shape the plot of  The Freak Museum?

12:00 pm Lunch

Writing Your Short Story 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm

  • Consider the POV of your story. What does it do for the story?
  • How would a different POV change the story?
