woohoo!

200px-Corvus_corax_(NPS)

Just a quickie post, as I’ve got to get to the writing. Back from the World Fantasy Convention in San Jose–it was fabulous. The panels were excellent. I took many notes and walked out of each one with much food for thought. I got to speak to Chelsea Quinn Yarbro who writes the Saint-Germain vampire series and she kindly autographed my copy of A Dangerous Climate. I was so delighted to see her I couldn’t raise my voice above a whisper! I attended a panel where Ellen Kushner was one of the speakers, but I had not brought my hardback copy of Swordspoint, unfortunately. It was great to put faces to the names of the movers, shakers, and lights of the fantasy genre–Ellen Datlow, Ellen Kushner, Peter Straub, Michael Swanwick, Anne and Jeff VanderMeer, Guy Gavriel Kay (whose intricate historical fantasies are wonderful reads), Jane Lindskold, Tim Powers, and so many others. I’ll post a bit more later, and I’ve got a couple photos too.

San Jose is a charming city with a more artistic than business air about it, and Michelle and I had fun getting slightly lost in the streets while looking for this or that restaurant, but everything was relatively close so it was just a matter of turning in the right direction–a bit of a problem for the direction dyslexic.

Congratulations to the winners of the World Fantasy Award.

Today is Day 2 of Nano, and the last day of my vacation, and I’ve got to get busy with the November novel–soon as I have another cup of coffee and rustle up some sort of breakfast.

Day 1 count: 2,059.

One thought on “woohoo!

Comments are closed.