a lamentation of swans

IMG_0157

I seem to have forgotten about A Lamentation of Swans, but really I haven’t. It’s always on my mind. I’ve worked on Swans, with long breaks in between, since 1996–I think that’s when I wrote the first 30 pages of it. It’s changed over the years, but not much. The main characters are still with me and the main storyline is still there too, with slight alterations and additions that have deepened it, but brought me no closer to the kind of development that leads through to the end of the book.

I make progress when I work on it, but at some point it all becomes too much and I’m overwhelmed, defeated once more by the weight of themes, character, and plot, but I return to it time after time because there is a great story there, and every time I re-read what I’ve written, I fall in love with it again.

Yesterday I revised The Girl in the Swamp Forest and re-titled it Three Heartbeats–so much better. Also a strange duplication had occurred in the manuscript. Once I discovered that and deleted it, the story turned out to be not 5,404 words, but 3,779. Anyway, it’s done and I like it.

