you’re standing on my neck

StagesofLife Caspar David Friedrich
The Stages of Life, Caspar David Friedrich

Gloomy weather this morning. Cool and gray outside. Have not worked on anything since Sunday. Still reading John Fowles: The Journals. Once again I’m having trouble finding a schedule I can maintain. For the past three weeks, Life’s gotten in the way in a big, focus-blasting way. I’ve fallen off the rails and I’m floundering, trying to find direction. All the writing is at a standstill, that is, I’ve reached a certain point in each WIP and can’t seem to push ahead. Although Saturday’s writing meeting with Michelle went very well, steady writing is still slipping through my fingers.

A part of the problem is the early morning risings. That worked well for a while, but it also wore me out so I’ve returned to night writing, but so far, it’s been spotty at best. Not sure what to do.

2 thoughts on “you’re standing on my neck

  1. As for me, I’m learning from the turtle. Trying for 30 minutes in the morning and the completion of a small project in the evening: like typing in edits for one chapter, filling in the Cat template, or reading 20 pages in the novel and coming up with a new scene idea or mark those twenty pages with new gestures or a side business. Anything for forward momentum even at a turtle pace.

    Then on Saturday, four hours devoted to writing 12 scenes or a new chapter or some major revising.

    Then, in dribs and drabs, it surely will be finished.

    Keep the faith.

  2. Sorry to hear how much you are struggling. I went through something like that back in January. For about six weeks I had major unrelated stresses that totally messed up my focus. Sometimes it’s best to step back and take a breather, in my opinion. I don’t believe we should write 365 days a year. There’s no point in being masochistic about it. If you need a break, take one, guilt free, and get some much-needed and well-deserved rest, and feed your soul, replenish the well-spring, and when you’re ready the ideas will start flowing, the passion will return, and your work will get underway without prodding. In fact, at that point, nobody could keep you away from it if they tried! And you’ll produce plenty, enough to make up for the days you didn’t write.

    I’m about due for one of my “creative breaks” myself. Just in time to enjoy the nice weather.

    Take care,

    Adrian

Comments are closed.