bejeweled

souloftherose_waterhouse

Soul of the Rose, John William Waterhouse

“A novelist is on the cusp between someone who knows everything and someone who knows nothing.” –Jane Smiley, 13 Ways of Looking at the Novel

The game Bejeweled–whenever I’m stuck on a sentence, I play a game or two of Bejeweled. Eliminating strings of jewels, seeing the field of play reshape into a new array of gemstones reminds me of the way A Lamentation of Swans changes in the writing. The more I work on this novel, the more it undergoes a metamorphosis, shaping and reshaping itself  like the Bejeweled field of play. I don’t mind. Now that I’ve dropped all other storylines except Gaius’s, the story has strengthened. Those other storylines may still play a part as background to the action surrounding Gaius, but the focus is solely on him. That’s how I began the novel years ago and now I’ve come back to it full circle.

Gaius’s quest to save Annasara’s life leads him to challenge the stability of time itself, and gives me an intriguing theme to work with. Being on the cusp of knowing everything and knowing nothing, I only just realized this. 

Meeting with Michelle today for our monthly Writing Saturday. Two things on my agenda:

1. Rewriting and completing the Gaius and Nakuru scene in Chapter 4

2. Adding another paragraph to the Riley short story

