blue rose

the-dancebouguereau

The Dance, William Bouguereau

Didn’t get as much done on A Lamentation of Swans today as I’d hoped. On Sundays I cook for the coming week–lunch and dinner. I roasted a chicken, made an Ethiopian cabbage dish, stir-fried a wok-full of vegetables and rice noodles with ginger, soy sauce, and garlic, and just when I thought I was through and could sit down to work on Swans, I discovered the bag of mini peppers I thought I’d bought on my earlier trip to Costco hadn’t made it into my box of groceries so off to Costco I went with receipt in hand and shortly returned home with a bag of orange, red, and yellow peppers. I cut up a few, sauteed them in sesame oil, sesame seeds and garlic and poured it over my stir-fried vegetables, and then I cooked talipia in an Asian garlic sauce, cleaned up the kitchen and at last I was through! And it was ten after nine.

But I added 383 more words on yesterday’s scene. Tomorrow is another day, and I’m going to spend the rest of this Sunday evening with¬†Elizabeth Bear’s New Amsterdam, thanks to Michelle who picked up a copy for me. It’s nice to have friends who buy you cool books.

