paradox

the-crystal-ballwaterhouse

The Crystal Ball, John William Waterhouse

Moving along with A Lamentation of Swans. Working on a scene between Gaius and Inquisitor Rijjan Mira that I’ve wanted to write for a long time, but had to wait until I’d crossed a particular bridge. Their dialogue has set me to thinking some more.

The mystery of the vas’ru in Raeve. The Raevani have blinded themselves to their presence. What can make a people do that? People blind themselves to paradoxes, to logic conflicts, to the truths of reality all the time. They create their own realities through cultural conditioning, psychology, social structures, and they deny and attempt to rationalize anything that points to the wrongness of it, the lie, the hypocrisy, the illogic, the irrationality of their behavior, or the thought behind it.

I don’t think I can handle the book’s theme(s) in one novel; I think  the whole story will take more than one book.

One thought on “paradox

  1. well it seems everyone is into their writing these days except me. I’ve been so busy with classes and at this point I look forward to them winding down for Spring break although I’ve already been asked to carry on with a drop-in for one of my memoir groups and I think the novel writing workshop (at my home) will likely carry on a bit too. Oh well, should I gripe when I am making a bit more money? I think not. Anyway I will hopefully catch up soon. I have six more chapters and the epilogue to write and the THE END. (I’ve been reading snippets to my novel writers — by their request– and they love it!)

Comments are closed.