laughter

hylasandthenymphs_waterhouse

Hylas and the Nymphs, John William Waterhouse

Methinks Hylas is about to fall into trouble.

This morning February wings in, sun-bright, cooled by a soft fresh breeze. Last night my friend Patricia and I attended a delightfully comedic presentation of “Around the World in Eighty Days” playing at The Laguna Playhouse in Laguna Beach. The acting was excellent, the comic timing perfect, the slapstick sent gales of laughter rollicking through the audience. Among the finer things of life, laughter is one of the finest. Before heading for our eight o’clock seats, we footed about looking for a place to have dinner. Laguna Beach has many small, independent restaurants tucked among its puzzle of streets. Last night every place was busy with up to one hour waits, but we found a bistro with seating open at the bar so we happily plopped ourselves down. I had the best mojito and a scrumptious seafood salad–lump crab, shrimp, fresh greens, scallops, topped with ringlets of crisp onion–I nearly licked the bowl. Patricia had a salmon salad and a martini. A fitting end to January and a nice treat for the work I’ve done on Swans.

Had breakfast with my neighbor at the Belmont Brewing Company at the pier, and now that I’m back, I’ve got new narrative to write for today’s work– several new scenes focusing on Rijjan Mira.

Looks like it’s going to be a lovely afternoon later. Maybe I’ll get in a walk.

