one eye open

 

waterhouse_pandora

Pandora, John William Waterhouse

19,684, A Lamentation of Swans. I’m thinking Chapter 3 is going to become Chapter 1 in the final manuscript. Chapter 3 opens with Gaius returning from Lucalla and Vinza waiting at Great Harbor to give him the bad news. The prior chapters are good, but they lack the impetus of Chapter 3. However, Chapters 1 and 2 pose the mystery and are designed as lures into the story. I’m thinking though that an editor would tell me the story starts at Chapter 3. I’m leaving it the way it is for now, but I have a strong feeling that I’ll be making that change later.

This morning I worked on the Gaius-Nakuru scene, and it plays well. I’ve also decided how I want the book to end, and one particular thing that I didn’t think would have a role in the story has gained significance. Also, this week, I’m supposed to gin up an outline. I think that would be wise.

