sunday doings

The Captain’s Daughter, James Tissot

43,421, Loose Daddy rewrite. Made a pot of lentil soup using a recipe from The Book of Jewish Food by Claudia Roden, a cookbook I bought several years ago while researching a novel that had a Jewish background. It’s a wonderful cookbook of Ashkenazi and Sephardi recipes plus interesting anecdotal and historical information. Every so often I take it off the shelf and make something from it. I used yellow lentils instead of the red the recipe calls for and garlic as well as cumin. It came out delicious.

Yesterday I did some research and worked on notes about the November novel. Don’t have a title yet so I’ve named it Untitled Novel #5. Today, after studying for Monday night’s class, I spent the afternoon with Loose Daddy and deleted a chapter that will have to go back in at a later point in the story. I’ve been reading through the manuscript, fixing things, and thinking about the last bit of story that will take me to the end. This novel is proving awful difficult to revise, but I’m too close to the end to shelve it.

Finished reading Chelsea Quinn Yarbro’s Midnight Harvest, the 16th St. Germain novel. I love her St. Germain series and lost track of the books for several years. The last one I think I read was Blood Games. I’ve got a lot of catching up to do with one of my favorite heroic vampires.

Think I’m going to smother a chicken breast and make garlicky black beans for dinner tonight.

 

One thought on “sunday doings

Comments are closed.