apres-midi

Still Life with a Book, Paul Signac

44,594, Loose Daddy rewrite. Home today as the boss is observing Yom Kippur. As always, it is a pleasure to be off from the day job. I took a walk through the neighborhood, giving my mind time to settle for today’s work. It’s sunny, blue sky, pleasant breezes–not as hot today as it was yesterday. It’s the hour of the gardener. First Street is quiet except for the intermittent sound of hedge trimmers and lawnmowers. I walked past a lady of late middle years trimming her rose bushes, a trash bin at her elbow full of thorny branches. From a neighbor’s yard a calico cat, snug in the grass, watched her with feline attentiveness. I love this neighborhood for its old homes, its nearness to the beach, and its serenity. Although I think about moving elsewhere, some other state maybe, I really don’t see myself doing that, despite the irritating politics of California’s state legislature and the harm their idiotic policies have done to this lovely state. Even my native state, Louisiana, does not attract me in the same way as California; from time to time I give Colorado serious consideration–maybe one day, maybe not.

I plan to work on Loose Daddy, deal with its continuity issues, and see if I can bring it to a close soon. I’m feeling stuck and yet I know what needs doing.

 Mommie died a year ago yesterday. I’ve lived the year with a hollow feeling, all too aware of her absence. I wish she’d had more time to live the rest of her life, healthy and happy.

 

2 thoughts on “apres-midi

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you this anniversary. I’m hoping for joy in your memories too.

    From wikipedia: According to Jewish tradition, God inscribes each person’s fate for the coming year into a “book” on Rosh Hashanah and waits until Yom Kippur to “seal” the verdict.

    So: have you sealed the verdict on LOOSE DADDY?

  2. Wishing you well. My heart goes out to you. Also wishing you success as you develop your new Untitled #5 and review your progress on Loose Daddy.

Comments are closed.