yesterday’s silent light

 

Yesterday my sisters, nieces and I visited Mom’s grave. We took her roses, big fat cabbage roses in peach and scarlet and elegant American beauties in hearts-blood red swooning in fern. Riverside National Cemetery was sunny, breeze-swept, and full of other families paying respects and leaving behind bouquets of roses and lilies and tulips. We told Mom we loved her and missed her, and my four-year old niece asked if grandma was down there beneath the plaque, and we said yes. I was very glad to have given Mom roses every Mother’s Day. When going through a collection of old photos my sisters and I found the papery petals of aged rose blossoms.

More precious was the light in your eyes than all the roses in the world.

-Edna St. Vincent Millay

4 thoughts on “yesterday’s silent light

  1. It’s amazing how time flies, isn’t it? Daddy’s birthday was May 3, and I still cannot go through his things yet. But I think I am going to do a Scrapbook later in the summer.

    You are so brave…

  2. It sure is! She’s 8 months gone already, and I think about Mother’s Day 2007 turning out to be the last Mother’s Day we would be together. d:

Comments are closed.