candy cane

dulac_garden2_eastwind_ap.jpg

The eastwind flew more swiftly still, The Garden of Paradise, Edmund Dulac 

Yesterday, feeling that I was doing Gaius a disservice and missing a story opportunity, I changed his profession from merchant-banker to physician. He fits much better in the re-visioning of the story now and gives me a chance to throw light on another aspect of the plot. Also, it’s no longer necessary for him and Annasara to be married. He meets her and they become lovers. The marriage angle served the former time-travel plot idea. Since I’ve defenestrated that one, the marriage idea can follow it down. Not that Gaius won’t ask her; he will, eventually, but at the start of things, they’re not wedded already.

This morning I asked myself many questions as I worked with Ferrant’s storyline, and I’m looking forward to the coming change in Ferrant’s relationship with Gadiel Rachor, his mentor. I’m still searching for the Enemy. The secret society of the Chaelmaeca is a good possibility. They have a valiant mission, but are not quite what they seem. There’s always the Judiciat, too. We shall see.

And, oh yes, I have several new characters coming on stage–another assassin who may turn out to be quite interesting, a priestess with megalomaniacal ambition, and possibly an abbess (I’m borrowing the word ’cause it’s a good title description and will use it in a secular way. This Raevani abbess has nothing to do with religion.)

I want to develop the skeletal structure of the first five chapters. I think, if I can do that, the rest of the story will take care of itself.

One thought on “candy cane

  1. I’ve had my ‘fictional’ plot figured out for a long time (the parts I fill in between the historical events). Last night I was laying awake and thinking about some scenes that were coming up and realized that I needed to change a few things. No big deal and I think it will work a bit better. I can get off on too many tangents and must keep this urge in check. A good bit of advice I got at the writer’s conference regarding minor characters, was to see if you could combine them and cut down the number, or drop them altogether if their role isn’t important. That’s what I need to do. (Or maybe that was in Donald Maas’s work book? At any rate, good advice.)

Comments are closed.