less time

harebellwilliam-morris.jpg

Harebell, William Morris

Mommie’s condition has worsened, and the doctors have revised their optimistic projection of six months; now she’s got not much more than a week or two, and her doctor says it could be any day now. I visited her on Sunday. She’s still in the hospital, but she wants to come home, and my sister is trying to get things in order for that, but Mom has not yet been turned over to hospice care, so we’re waiting for the red tape to clear, and hoping we can get Mommie home to her own bed.

I’m getting through the days as best I can. I got very little sleep last night, and I’m going in way late to work today. I got my pre-surgery appointment for the 18th, and I hope Mommie holds on. I don’t want to not be with her in her last hours. I want to be there to hold her hand.

My heartfelt thanks to all of you who’ve extended your sympathy and compassion to me and my family during these sad days.

6 thoughts on “less time

  1. I’m so sorry. But if she is so very ill, in pain and unable to eat, it might be better if your mother doesn’t have to suffer for six more months.

    Is there any chance you can move your surgery appointment? It helps a lot afterwards if you can be with a loved one in the last hours; I know it from my mother’s death.

Comments are closed.