sweet sorrow

echo-and-narcissuswaterhouse.jpg

Echo and Narcissus, John William Waterhouse 

11,702. It’s dangerous to walk into a car dealership. I went on an errand to the local Toyota dealership and came home with a new car. I hope Red forgives me. When we left to run that errand Sunday morning, he had no idea he’d not be coming home with me later. Neither did I. Poor baby. He must feel so betrayed.

The new addition to Casa Young is a 2007 Toyota Yaris. He’s dark red metallic aka Barcelona Red, came with a nice array of bells and whistles, and his name’s Junior.

When nobody was looking, I gave Red a good-bye kiss. Fourteen years, 180,000 miles of good and loyal service. It was the least I could do.

Thank you, Paul, for that thoughtful e-mail.

3 thoughts on “sweet sorrow

  1. Ah, poor Red. I hope he finds a new owner who will appreciate him like you did!

    By the way, this is one of my all-time favorite pictures.

  2. I cried when I had to give up the red Jetta, and I cried when I lost Silver in the flood. I have to say, though, I love my new Baby Blue. I’ve never had a car that felt as much like a partner in driving!

    I know how much Red meant to you.

    May you and Junior have a happy time together.

    Congrats on the new car!

  3. Hi, Wynn, yes I think Red will have a new owner eventually. The story goes that cars like Red get shipped to Mexico, refurbished, and sold again. And, Waterhouse is wonderful, isn’t he? d:)

    Hey Devon, I’m thrilled to an eternal grin. (I’m still missing Red, but what can I say—living in Southern California, a car becomes family.) Thank you, d:)

Comments are closed.