leaping lizards

thewiseandfoolishvirginsbrickdale.jpg
The Wise and Foolish Virgins, Eleanor Fortescue-Brickdale

Driving into work yesterday morning, I got hit with an inexplicable burst of happiness. Goodness. Gotta stop that.

I’m happier depressed, y’know. Guess for a moment I was subconsciously counting my blessings. Really I’ve got nothing to complain about. Really. Well there’s the systemic lupus, but we’ve been together for over 20 years. We’re buds. And my doctor’s been muttering something about surgery lately; seems one of the female parts is misbehaving–and not in a good way. Them female parts–can’t live with ’em…good riddance.

Let’s see…oh yeah, the eyes. Measles when Mom was pregnant vaporized the accuracy of my vision. Near-sighted before I even opened my newly created peepers. Oh well. And there’s the bum ear; its warranty ran out; guess it was only good for 42 years. Must’ve been something in the fine print on the contract the New Baby Angel gave me, but, y’know, I couldn’t see to read it, so I stamped on the bottom line with my infant foot, and the clock started ticking.

And, see here, there’s dropping my beloved novel, A Lamentation of Swans. Not to mention all those unfinished manuscripts in the closet. Not to mention the writing career that’s eluded me so far. But I’m not complaining.

What I’m reading…

Perfectly Plum, edited by Leah Wilson. I’ve not read any of Janet Evanovich’s novels. I bought this book primarily because Devon Ellington has an excellent essay in it, Exploding the Myth of the Jersey Girl.” Good read.

Rats and Gargoyles, Mary Gentle (Like the writing, but I keep putting the book down.)

July’s TBRs

One Art, Elizabeth Bishop Letters, selected and edited by Robert Giroux
The Children of Hurin, J.R.R. Tolkien, edited by Christopher Tolkien
Whitney, My Love, Judith McNaught
The Kilted Governess, Janet Quinn
Lover Eternal, J. R. Ward
Wicked Lovely, Melissa Marr
Deadman’s Switch, Barbara Seranella (her final book)

So, that about sums it up. Happy writing, d:)

2 thoughts on “leaping lizards

  1. Glad you’re enjoying Perfectly Plum. If you get a chance, would you hop on over to Amazon and give it review?

    Are you looking forward to a writing weekend? I am!

  2. Hi, Devon, yes, I took today off and I’m looking forward to some quality time with the WIPs. And sure, I’ll do an Amazon review on “Perfectly Plum.” d:)

Comments are closed.