true to character

lightningandlightalbertmoore.jpg

Lightning and Light, Albert Moore

56,580. May’s writing goal was 3000 more words; I made it! (Starting count May 1: 53,371). Yay me! This weekend I’ll take a look at things and set June’s objectives. Can someone tell me how to set a Zokutou word count thingy with WordPress? Much appreciate it.

In her post, Bossy Characters or Chained to Plot, Lisa, at http://intrinsiclifedesign.squarespace.com/ discusses that old writing kerfuffle, character versus plot, and asks, “Writers, what’s your preference? How do you write?” This set me to thinking…yep, the pitfall looms.

I love a good well-plotted story, but I love even more fiction where the characters give birth to a rousing plot, where the plot blooms, generates, proliferates from out of the character(s). Characters–they got the best plots in ’em!

I’m all for bossy characters. I have much wrestling, much go-rounding, with the plotting monster and I always lose until the moment I get a peg on the character and what that character is doing, is gonna do, wants to do. Once my character gets going, then the plot acorn sprouts a sprig or two.

I had something else I wanted to write about here today, but it’s slipped my mind. CRS–again!

4 thoughts on “true to character

Comments are closed.