poppies falling from cloud

reveriegodward.jpg
Reverie, John Godward

52,391. Sat and stared yesterday morning but not a word went down for Silk River. No problem, only a bit bothersome ’cause this is a rewrite. A transition is needed between Chapter 1 and Chapter 2 and more details about Rochelle too, but looking over the manuscript yielded nothing so I let it be for the nonce and moved on to the untitled romantic fantasy. Before going off to meet Janet I wrote 261 words of another scene between Emeryk and Aloli, finishing Chapter 1, and when I was home again, I applied rear of jeans to leather of desk chair and wrote 651 more words, bringing the story so far to 3,925 words, and I’m now a few pages into Chapter 2, and very pleased. I’ve got pages to read at the next writer’s group meeting.

After a good afternoon’s work, my evening treat was a re-viewing of THE PRESTIGE. Watching it again, I couldn’t help comparing it to the novel (which is terrific and better than the movie) but the movie is very good and I still love it, although I recognized that it cheats at least once, and I think this is why a friend considers THE ILLUSIONIST the better movie. I think he’s right; I loved THE ILLUSIONIST, but THE PRESTIGE still rocks with me.

I’ve decided to build my own website for the freelance writing business. I don’t need anything fancy, just a business-like representation of me and I think I can handle that myself. I’m also combing the freelance writing lists, looking for jobs I can bid for, one I can do even with the bulk of my hours taken by the full-time day job. I think it would be good to start building clients now as I prepare for the great transition. Yes, I’m frightened at the thought of letting go of permanent work, but let go I must. I welcome any fortifying advice on how to freelance part-time. My plan is to leave the day job next year.

I’ve had a good breakfast of steak hash; I’ve run my Sunday morning errands; brewed a fresh pot of mocha java for my third cup. Cloud-shadow blinds the sky this morning, and Emeryk and Aloli are waiting.

2 thoughts on “poppies falling from cloud

  1. I gave up my full time senior daycare supervisor back in 1993 in favour of more time for writing/travel/research. I opted to work as a daycare sub (which sometimes ended up almost full time because I got a lot of calls for work), and about then I started teaching travel writing at night school which later expanded into a second class (novel writing) and then a third (prompting the muse) as well as contract jobs for writing workshops and my memoir class.
    I found that you can’t make much money freelance writing (travel writing has become increasingly difficult as the newspapers aren’t taking much freelance and many publishers (on-line and print) don’t want to pay much if anything. So it’s the teaching and workshops that keeps me afloat along with my pensions. I haven’t been working in daycare since last year. Had phased myself down to one only where some friends also worked. But now I am ‘retired’ from that and full-time writing. But without my pensions and the wages I make teaching (p.t. work) I wouldn’t be able to make out so well. Yet, I’m happy now because I AM a full-time writer and that’s what I always wanted to be.

  2. Yep, the creative life is an uneasy journey. Good for you for taking the risk, and I hope you’ll reap the rewards of your writing. And I hope I’ll be able to keep my head above water. d:)

Comments are closed.