too late, she’s dust

lamia_herbert-james-draper.jpg
Lamia, Herbert James

I’ve not written anything here this week ‘cause I’ve not been able to collect my thoughts well enough to say anything worth saying. Thank you all for the good wishes and support regarding my recent surgery. It went well and I had no problem recovering. ‘Though the day of the surgery I got a bit of a turn when the doctor looked at my paperwork and said I’d been book for the wrong procedure. What? Whaddya mean?! He changed his mind after perusing the paperwork a little more closely.

Admittedly that was a bit of a distraction last week so I didn’t get much of anything done, as in no new writing, but I did spend my post-surgery day writing many, many notes about A Lamentation of Swans in my journal–six pages of notes and thoughts that clarified a number of things about the book for me. Those 6 pages are but a continuation of my ruminations on this novel; The Swans journals are titled A Novel Path and I’ve got 3 dating from 2004-2006, a total of 190,115 words of thoughts and notes, and A Novel Path 2007 stands at 5,059 so far. I hope this year’s will be my last and final journal about this book.

Temps have been rising above the fifties, and I hear rumors of the seventies returning–weather not decade, thank goodness–and today was fair, but still a bit nippy for my thin, sun-loving blood. (I’m afraid I’d not last long as a vampire. “D! Get out of the sun!” Famous last heard words.)

Anyway, today I wrote. Five hundred forty-five words. And there’s more where that came from. On Thursday during my hours of scribbling the novel fell into three parts and I got a good bright flash of insight as to how the parts fit and what I need to do. I found a role for a background character that adds another layer of story, and Vinza’s role has grown substantially, and I’ll have the wonderful opportunity to write a whole section about Ferrant. As much as I like Gaius and Mira and Vinza and Annasara, I’ve got a crush on Ferrant.

Finally got tired of listening to talk radio stations during the zombie rush and switched to K-Mozart, the classical music station. I enjoy classical music but have not listened to much of it in past years, so now I’m getting an education. Last week on the drive home I heard a piece of music that made me think of A Lamentation of Swans. I heard what could be Ferrant’s theme, and then, when the movement changed, I heard Gaius’s theme, and another movement gave me Annasara’s theme, and another, Mira’s. The piece ended and I listened for its name; it was “The Swan of Tuonela” by the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius. How serendipitious is that? First thing I did when I got home was go online and order the cd.

I’m nearly finished with Jane Smiley’s Thirteen Ways of Looking at the Novel. I’m reading Jane Yolen’s Take Joy and the Francine Prose book–both Christmas gifts from Michelle. I read Caitlin Kiernan’s excellent Daughter of Hounds and will read it again. Soon. It’s that kind of book. And I must finish Sarah Monette’s Melusine. Also on Thursday I worked on my ‘Swanology’ interactive picture book. I sat in bed with beautiful handmade papers embedded with rose petals, vellum in shades of ivory, taupe, and oyster, scissors, tape, and print-outs of Pre-Raphaelite art, and sheets of my manuscript and miscellaneous little things and was happily six years old again laying out stuff and designing pages for the ‘Swanology’ binder.

My first copy of APEX magazine came in yesterday’s mail, read most of the stories last night and finished it this morning. Not sure how I feel about the stories yet. Didn’t finish one, The Death Singer, by John B. Rosenman. I liked Jennifer Pelland’s Blood Baby and Steven Savile’s Incarnations of Immortality: Temple Part IV, and Tom Piccirilli’s Madness Blows the Winds of History was interesting.

Tomorrow I get to write again.

4 thoughts on “too late, she’s dust

  1. Glad to hear all’s well after the surgery. It won’t be long before you’re back at your writing again.

    I always have the CBC Radio on during the day with the classical music playing and find it makes a pleasant background for me when I’m writing. If I’m working on the novel though I often need to have specific music playing otherwise it distracts me.

  2. Nice post! I love hearing that other writers are moving forward with their writing, adding to the word count each day. It’s been days since I’ve written a word towards my latest – I’m going to get started right now!

Comments are closed.