dream

Roses Under the Trees, Gustav Klimt

43,871, Loose Daddy

21,948, Sweet Taboo

The repairman didn’t show up until sometime between 3 and 4 so I didn’t make it into the office at all on Thursday. I didn’t mind; I needed a day off from the drive and the office. I worked on Sweet Taboo (but all I did was cut) ’cause Loose Daddy is slow going lately. Every time I set a deadline to finish a piece of writing it does me no good, but after days of nothing, I was finally able to continue the conversation between Tyrell and Lucas Monroe, another page along. However, my two pages a day goal for the month of July met the sun of resistance and turned to ashes. So I’ll have to be content with what I get each morning for the rest of this month.

Got back Steve’s comments on the first 3 chapters of Sweet Taboo, and all’s well pretty much. He only had a few cosmetic changes and he said it was a pleasure to read and that it has great characterization, believable storyline, and good pacing. I so appreciate those words.

Met Janet today for our monthly writer’s lunch. She had a bag of birthday gifts for me. One particular gift was a lovely bookmark–a pink cord with a rose pink square dangling from one end with the word “Dream” in silver and from the other end my initial, a pink and silver “D”. Being a bookmark junkie, I love it, and I laughed and told her “dream” is all I seem to do ’cause actually finishing my novels and getting them out the door seems an impossible task for me. But I’m not quitting. I’m too close.

I pulled out Cloak of Shar last night and gave it a read-through–all 4,400 words. It’s a fantasy story I started in 2006. It read well; I liked the characters, and had written my way through to the start of a war and stopped ’cause I didn’t know what to do after that. So Janet and I talked about it and she gave me some good suggestions to move the story along. I don’t want to stare at LD and ST this afternoon, so I’m going to see if I can plot more of Cloak of Shar. On with the dream.

One thought on “dream

  1. You reminded me of the War of Art book. You are a mighty warrior woman: fight that demon of resistance. Your stories are needed.

Comments are closed.